Michael Green Audio Forum

http://tuneland.techno-zone.net

Our Website  HomeHome  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 

Stereophile, the other side of the hobby

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
Michael Green
Admin

PostSubject: Stereophile, the other side of the hobby   Tue Dec 22, 2015 12:13 am

Hi Members & Visitors

As many have seen, I've been posting on Stereophile forum for the last 2 years. During this time I have learned much about the hobby that maybe I didn't know before or maybe I didn't want to think was possible.

Last night I sent an email to JA expressing that I was going to limit my involvement due to the unethical practices going on there, mainly the permitting of internet trolling.

Over this period of introducing a different or new layer to the Phile I've become aware that there is a comfort zone that Stereophile has been acustom that is outside of what I would consider the norm of a hobby based on listening to music. This comfort zone has nothing to do with music at all or very little. Taking a step back and looking over these threads and posts, I found myself in a Stereophile hobby that is all it's own. Trying to wrap my mind around this is more than a challenge, it's impossible. Am I viewing the end of JG Holt's dream, or was it always destined for Stereophile to have this concept of the hobby? A concept that is more marketing than discovering music.

One would think that Stereophile ultimately would be that piller of light that would never dim, and I personally have experienced their breaking through at least momentarily, but now I see the end is near, or at least never to reach it's potential.

There are a few comments made to me by members, on the Phile threads, here on TuneLand and mostly by emails that have suggested the Stereophile Forum as a whole has been a big disappointment.

Even today the forum is asked about it's relevance.