Michael Green Audio Forum

http://tuneland.techno-zone.net

Our Website  HomeHome  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 

The Tunable Audio PC

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Bill333

PostSubject: The Tunable Audio PC   Wed Mar 16, 2011 9:40 pm

THE TUNABLE AUDIO PC

I normally build my own personal computers at home and I'm a software engineer by profession, so I'm not completely new to this. However, this is my first attempt at building an audio PC. I'm going to walk through the entire build process so that anyone who wants to can build one for themselves.

The first thing to discuss is exactly what I am setting this computer up to do. Computers can play a lot of different roles in an audio system: network storage of audio data, playback device for a USB enabled DAC, playback device for an S/PDIF DAC, or standalone source with analog outputs. I am building a computer which will hold a digitized audio collection on its hard drives and export an S/PDIF signal by TosLink to an external DAC. My intention is that the computer will sit on the equipment rack and be tuned like any other component. It should have nothing connected to it except a power supply cord, an ethernet cable and the TosLink cable.

Why no monitor and keyboard? The monitor and keyboard are clunky attachments which are difficult to position near an equipment rack and a pain to use while listening. And I'd prefer not to worry about what having these devices attached to the computer will do to its tuning. The less parts involved, the better. The more elegant solution is to access the audio PC remotely from another computer on the network when you need to see its desktop. For normal music playback functions, a wireless remote like a smartphone or iPod will let you find and play your music without ever needing to see the computer.